beauty · vegan

How To Use Castor Oil

Castor oil is a vegetable oil that comes from pressing the seeds of the Ricinus communis plant. This oil is commonly found in beauty products and pharmaceuticals. I mainly use castor oil for skin care, but my mom says that it can also be used for digestion. Listed below are a few ways I like to use castor oil!

  1. Hair Care/Hair Growth: You can add castor oil to your shampoo and conditioner. I like to make a hair mask with castor oil and leave it in for about 15 minutes and then rinse out. Also, mixing coconut oil and castor oil can improve hair growth. I like to mix the two together and brush it through my eyebrows and eyelashes. If you have curly/coarse hair castor oil is a great way to add moisture.
  2. Makeup Remover: Castor oil easily breaks up makeup. I find it to be gentle on the skin and it removes eye makeup better than a traditional makeup wipe. I recommend thoroughly rinsing off your face afterward though because it might leave a residue.
  3. Other Skin Care Uses: Castor oil can be used on the face or the body. If you have acne prone or oily skin I would use castor oil with caution. I like to mix castor oil in my moisturizers when my skin is dry. Also, if I have dry patches on my knees or elbows I apply castor oil directly.
  4. Digestive Purposes: Castor oil can also be used to alleviate constipation (ew, I know). I personally have never done this, but apparently it is fairly common. Taking 1 tablespoon of castor oil can help ease constipation or stomach pain (takes about 4 hours to take effect).

Let me know if this was helpful!

________________________________________________

Check out some other beauty posts:

Skin Daily Vitamin B3 Serum Review

Benefits of Turmeric

It’s Okay to Not Wear Makeup

Aloe Vera Gel As A Makeup Primer

Curly Hair Hacks + Products

Social Media ♥

Instagram | Tumblr

 

Leave a Reply

