Lifestyle

Thoughts on Minimalism

I have been hesitant to write this post. For whatever reason, I haven’t been able to put the words together to describe how I feel about minimalism. Minimalism has become more well-known in the past year because of a Netflix documentary and an abundant amount of minimalists and minimalism ideas on social media.

I was never one to have a bunch of stuff I don’t need. I have always valued my happiness and quality of life over material possessions. My parents taught me and my sister to not hold onto things and we regularly donated possessions to charity. I always thought minimalism was referring to white and gray interior design, almost like sterile hospital rooms. While this may promote minimalism, minimalism is not a specific design.

I am at a cross roads in my life (sorry this is all over the place). I spend a fair amount of time reevaluating my values and my purpose. Minimalism has simplified my life and on a deeper level it has reaffirmed my values, purposes, and basically the direction I’m going. Simplifying my possessions to only things that are meaningful and add value has given me a sense of freedom. I thought that living with less would make me feel restricted, but the opposite is true. I feel carefree and it doesn’t matter what other people think anymore. Why should I care what some random person thinks about my lifestyle? The people who judge how others live are typically people who are not even well-liked; so it shouldn’t matter.

I don’t like to tell others how to live. If minimalism isn’t your “thing” that’s fine. But for me, minimalism along with other changes has greatly improved my life. I am not usually the type of person to label myself, but I would proudly label myself a minimalist. Peace, freedom, serenity, purpose, and importance are all words I associate with my life and at the same time-minimalism. I urge you to research minimalism and maybe try it for yourself. I also recommend “The Minimalists” a documentary on Netflix and they will be able to describe it better than I can. Thanks for taking the time to read this rambling and I hope it is useful!

Instagram | Tumblr

5 thoughts on “Thoughts on Minimalism

Leave a Reply

