Lifestyle

Looking for Happiness in the Wrong Places 

Finding True Happiness

I know the title is weird, but hear me out! We are always looking for things and amounts to make us happy. This idea came to me when I posted on my Instagram and I received more likes and follows than normal. For some reason I thought that I would be happier. I was slightly pleased, but for some reason I thought that I would be an even happier person.

People think that reaching so many followers on their blog will make them happier or if they lose that amount of weight they wanted they will be happy. True happiness doesn’t come from material things or numbers of followers. True happiness is learned and comes from within. Now with social media, many people are consumed with how many likes and shares they get. This is just another form of greed.

You don’t have to give up your goals or social media to be happy, you just need to remember what is fulfilling to you. If you want to lose weight-that’s a great goal, but if getting to a certain number becomes an obsession it’s time to reevaluate. I have to constantly remind myself that I just have to do what makes me happy and not to worry if other people will like it. Your happiness comes from self-love and fulfillment. Look at your way of life and ask yourself, what is it lacking? I guarantee your answer isn’t going to be 10,000 YouTube subscribers. Your answer will probably be quality time with friends/family or traveling and new adventures. Stop looking to things and people to make you happier, take control of your life and do more of what gives you joy. It is easier said than done, but continually remind yourself of the life you want and force yourself out of you comfort zone. But, also be grateful for all that you have. Go explore, do dumb stuff with your friends, try that new yoga class, get a pet, spend a day volunteering. These are the things that will be meaningful to your life. When you are 80 years old you will be reminiscing about your trip to Paris, not the number of likes you got on Facebook.

Image result for self love

Thanks for reading!

3 thoughts on “Looking for Happiness in the Wrong Places 

Leave a Reply

