beauty

Daily Skin Care Routine

If you want a flawless base for your makeup, then you have to take a serious look at your skin. Wearing makeup every day can really take a toll on your complexion. A little background on my skin–I have normal to dry and sensitive skin. I have redness in my cheek area and while I don’t have consistent acne, certain things cause breakouts for me (stress, diet, reactions to products,etc). Here is what I do on a daily basis to keep my skin healthy looking (in order).

Remove makeup

The first thing I do when my day is over is remove my makeup. I typically use a wipe or cold cream. It doesn’t really matter how you remove your makeup, just make sure to do this everyday.

Cleanse

I use Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleanser once a day. I like it because it is very simple and only has a few ingredients. Just find a cleanser that is right for your skin type.

Tone

Toning is important for me because I spend a lot of time outside and I get clogged pores. I always switch up which toner I use, but right now I use an Olay one.

Spot treatment

This is necessary for when I have breakouts. I use the Clean and Clear spot treatment. It has 10%  benzoyl peroxide. I try not to overdue it with this product because it can be drying.

Moisturize/Hydrate

I use two different moisturizers, one in the morning and one at night. I use a different one in the morning because I want SPF and something less greasy. I use Cetaphil Daily Facial Moisturizer in the morning and at night I either use the e.l.f. Night Cream or Equate Strikingly Unique Moisturizer.

Oils (optional)

If my skin is really dry, then I will use oils after I moisturize. I typically go for Vitamin E Oil or Coconut Oil and if I have breakouts then I use Tea Tree Oil. Some people say that Coconut Oil clogs their pores, but I haven’t had that problem with it.

Leave a Reply

